Iphone image workflow and evolution.

Hi, Thought I’d post another manipulated image today, with an explanation as to how I achieved it and what apps I used. Also the different ideas and how the image evolves. Here’s the final image which I titled Recollections. I wanted a slightly unnerving appeal with the main character in a hospital gown visualising events from his past. All the images were taken using the Hipstamatic app.

IMG_3382 There’s him the younger man to his right shouting in the street, His parents walking away from him fading into the distance, and the additional older character leaving the scene. There’s four images all merged together in superimpose which is a fantastic app for this kind of workflow. I started with just a background..

7818684424_051fcfd48b_b This I cropped square and got rid of the birds on the left. I then imported my first image, the man in the hospital gown..

IMG_3369 IMG_3370 IMG_3371 You can use the transform tool to resize the image and place it anywhere on the background. There are also blending modes with which you can adjust the opacity or overlay the image. I then brought in the other images into superimpose. There’s a masking tool where you can erase and paint onto any part of the image. Here I used saved images from previous works that are kept in the library, another great feature..

IMG_3372 IMG_3373 IMG_3374 IMG_3375

As you can see I’ve positioned each layer where I wanted, resized and blended into the main image. I then saved the image to my camera roll and opened it up in scratchcam. This is another great app that has loads of different textures and scratches built in. You can also dial down the effect to get the desired result.

IMG_3376 IMG_3377 I also use distressedfx and mextures a lot, two fantastic texture apps as well. I then saved to my camera roll and opened up the image in my number one app snapseed. This is a great editing app that has loads of different effects built in as well as some useful textures like vintage and grunge..

IMG_3379 IMG_3380 IMG_3381 The first image is with a grunge effect added, the second with a vintage effect which I settled for. I also added a border and finally saved to my camera roll..

IMG_3382 I always put the image through various programs to see how it may improve and sometimes come back to an image after a period of time and change it around then for a fresh perspective. This is all part of the evolution of an image and is why I never truly consider them complete!

IMG_3354 IMG_3353 IMG_3352 IMG_3350

Four different interpretations of the same image. Thanks for looking and please post any comments below….

 

 

Categories: Hipstamatic, Iphone editing, Iphoneography, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Iphone image workflow and evolution.

  1. Reblogged this on blogagaini and commented:
    Recollections by Craig Poltock with workflow and evolution.

  2. Reblogged this on iPhone Photographer and commented:
    I thought this was a good look at Craig Poltock’s workflow on his iPhone.

    • Thanks, David. I found this on your blog and I really like Craig’s explanation. I use some of these apps, but not at this level of expertise. Now I am inspired to practice and get better.

  3. Fantastic image.

  4. Totally cool and wonderful and eerie….nice job! Just goes to show you don’t need a fancy DSLR to create powerful images! Nicely done.

    • Thanks. I used to own a couple of fancy dslrs but sold them and now use just the iphone and a fuji x20. Having more fun now..

      • My girlfriend knows an iphone artist in Sausalito (near SF) who has an art gallery and is an AMAZING artist with her iphone! She teaches and sells her artwork there and trust me, you have to be excellent to be in one of those galleries. It’s all art much to the disappointment of those who have fancy DSLRs. 🙂

      • I agree, sometimes were obsessed with gear and gadgets and forget to have fun and create stuff.

      • Exactly! It’s technical just like music…people can learn the notes and play a tune but are they musical??? (I’ve played piano since I was 4 just fyi so that’s why i make that analogy.) Same with photography. Everyone does the beach scene with the long exposures and the sunsets, heck, I like them. But who can create ART? That’s where I’m trying to head albiet a slow one lol.

      • I’m sure you’ll get there. Slow journeys are always more scenic anyways..

      • They emblazen in my mind……

  5. Stunning image!

  6. True artistry!!!! I’m learning little by little. Hope to one day be able to get results like this!!!! Amazing!!!!

  7. Great post. I love what you did. 😀

  8. Wow this is extremely cool! So glad iPhone photographer shared your post! Amazingly creative!

  9. I love your work and really appreciate how you walk us through your workflow-it is just amazing to me what can be done with the iPhone-

  10. Thank You very much. It’s nice to get feedback.

  11. This image is chilling. I will check out this app. Your demonstration makes this product look very easy. With other programs, such as gimp or photoshop, layering is way outside my reach. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

VIVIMETALIUN

Pensamos demasiadamente e sentimos muito pouco. Necessitamos mais de humildade que de máquinas. Mais de bondade e ternura que de inteligência. Sem isso, a vida se tornará violenta e tudo se perderá. Charles Chaplin.

At Times I Wonder!

Thoughts, Insights and Ramblings

stayclassy21

I wudn't be able doin' anythin' if I'll not take a sip of a bitter cup of pep.

Perspective Art

Surreal Landscapes by Maikhail Buzhinskiy

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

one thousand sunsets

love letters from the Sun...

Travel with Kat

Discovering new countries, cultures and cuisines

{ phoneographer.org }

iPhoneography art photograph blog

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Funding Help

I need your help in obtaining trianing for a different career!

Just another corner

Meeting new faces in analog.

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

Confessions of a Nomad

Sharing my adventures in travel & food

iPhone Photoblogging

iPhone Photography

