Iphone editing and blending techniques

Hi, i’ve been using the new improved superimpose blending app again recently. This is a fantastic blending app where you can create some stunning effects. You can combine two photos layered over each other and with different transparencies or blend textures, borders etc or just superimpose or juxtapose by removing parts of your image and replacing backgrounds etc. I normally start all my edits with snapseed which just about does everything you need as well as some great effect textures as well.( see my earlier post on snapseed for more information). I then import into superimpose, starting with a background. I will then add the foreground image and use the masking screen to erase all unwanted areas. You can zoom in super close so your level of detail will be stunning with plenty of fine tune and blending options. When i’ve finished with superimpose I will normally import the image into scratchcam or noir( for mono). Scratchcam has some spectacular effects and is a firm favourite. I will then import back into snapseed for some fine tuning and normally a border as well. Here’s two images I’ve recently worked on….

IMG_5312 IMG_5322

The first I called scream & shout, the second Echoes#5 part of an ongoing project about memories and experiences. Scream & shout is made up of two iphone images both taken using the hipstamatic app..

IMG_3306 hyde park 2013 137

As you can see they had different combo’s (film and lens combinations) as well. I used superimpose to blend background and foreground, and then scratchcam to add a filter effect. Next I imported back to snapseed, got rid of the border and added a new skinnier one and adjusted the effects like brightness and warmth.

The second image Echoes#5 is made from three Iphone images taken again with the hipstamatic app…

IMG_5316 IMG_1602 IMG_5317

Once again I blended together in superimpose, positioning the man in separate locations and making him slightly transparent to give the effect of something remembered or witnessed. I then imported to scratchcam and added one of their effects…

IMG_5318 IMG_5320 

The first image is the scratchcam effect and the second is after I took it through snapseed and altered the overall tone and colours. The Final image was completed in snapseed using the great HDR filter and finally a border from their frames filter…

IMG_5321

Thanks again for Looking and please leave any comments you wish to make..

 

 

Categories: Hipstamatic, Iphone editing, Iphoneography, Oggl, Photography, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Iphone editing and blending techniques

  1. Craig I love your style and the step by step timeline. I know it’s a lot of work and totally appreciate it, and I know it’s your passion. Thank you 💞

  2. Thanks for your tips. Using Apps is new for me, and I’m having great fun learning.

  3. Very spooky post today. The subject really suits the editing. 😀

  4. Hi Criag… I finally did it! You are a featured spot on blogagaini’s sidebar. Thanks for this great blog.

  5. These are truly wonderful, Craig.
    So unique, and so artistic.

  6. You are very good at this, and you inspired me to upload snapseed. A very, very useful tool, and as you say – maybe you don’t need much more! But, now I have become interested in how to move parts of pictures and foregrounds/backgrounds. I will look for superimpose! Thank you for being so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

VIVIMETALIUN

Pensamos demasiadamente e sentimos muito pouco. Necessitamos mais de humildade que de máquinas. Mais de bondade e ternura que de inteligência. Sem isso, a vida se tornará violenta e tudo se perderá. Charles Chaplin.

At Times I Wonder!

Thoughts, Insights and Ramblings

stayclassy21

I wudn't be able doin' anythin' if I'll not take a sip of a bitter cup of pep.

Perspective Art

Surreal Landscapes by Maikhail Buzhinskiy

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

one thousand sunsets

love letters from the Sun...

Travel with Kat

Discovering new countries, cultures and cuisines

{ phoneographer.org }

iPhoneography art photograph blog

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Funding Help

I need your help in obtaining trianing for a different career!

Just another corner

Meeting new faces in analog.

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

Confessions of a Nomad

Sharing my adventures in travel & food

iPhone Photoblogging

iPhone Photography

